← All Colorado water providers

Town of Granada

The Town of Granada is the public water system serving 515 people in Prowers County, from groundwater. EPA modelled this service area rather than tracing it from a utility map, so treat the edge as approximate.
Community system · EPA id CO0150300 · filed with EPA as “GRANADA TOWN OF”

Serves Granada.

People served
515
Service connections
303
Primary source
Groundwater
Owner
Local government
Counties served
Prowers
Water district

Modelled boundary. EPA estimated this service area (Random Forest) rather than tracing a utility-supplied map; treat the edge as approximate. About 2 km².

Where the water comes from

FacilityKindWater
NO 1 WELLWellGroundwater
NO 2 WELLWellGroundwater
NO 3 WELLWellGroundwater

These are EPA's facility records, not DWR structures. Which decreed rights sit behind an intake is the next phase; nothing here is inferred.

DWR structures that name this system

Source Probable join · fetched 2026-09-09 · matched on DWR's recorded contact or an EPA intake name; verify on the dossier

No DWR structure on file records this system as its contact, and none of its EPA intakes matches a structure name in its districts. DWR records a contact on only a fraction of structures, and only for districts fetched from its live service, so this is absence of a record, not evidence of no rights.

Compliance record

Source Register of another agency · fetched 2026-09-09 · verify at EPA ECHO ↗

1 health-based violation open now. A health-based violation means a measured level went over a federal limit, or a required treatment step was not carried out — not a missed form. What that means for anyone drinking the water depends on the contaminant and the dose; read EPA's own report and the system's Consumer Confidence Report rather than anything inferred here.

EPA's own summary: violations in 12 of the last 12 quarters, significant non-compliance in 3. In violation for, in EPA's words: 0700=Groundwater Rule; 0999=Chlorine; 1005=Arsenic; 1010=Barium; 1015=Cadmium; 1020=Chromium; 1025=Fluoride; 1035=Mercury; 1036=Nickel; 1040=Nitrate; 1045=Selenium; 1074=Antimony, Total; 1075=Beryllium, Total; 1085=Thallium, Total; 2005=Endrin; 2010=BHC-GAMMA; 2015=Methoxychlor; 2020=Toxaphene; 2031=Dalapon; 2032=Diquat; 2033=Endothall; 2035=Di(2-ethylhexyl) adipate; 2036=OXAMYL; 2037=Simazine; 2039=Di(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate; 2040=Picloram; 2041=Dinoseb; 2042=Hexachlorocyclopentadiene; 2043=Aldicarb sulfoxide; 2044=Aldicarb sulfone; 2046=Carbofuran; 2047=Aldicarb; 2050=Atrazine; 2051=LASSO; 2065=Heptachlor; 2067=Heptachlor epoxide; 2105=2,4-D; 2110=2,4,5-TP; 2274=HEXACHLOROBENZENE; 2306=Benzo(a)pyrene; 2326=Pentachlorophenol; 2378=1,2,4-Trichlorobenzene; 2380=cis-1,2-Dichloroethylene; 2383=Total Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCB); 2931=1,2-DIBROMO-3-CHLOROPROPANE; 2946=ETHYLENE DIBROMIDE; 2955=Xylenes, Total; 2959=Chlordane; 2964=DICHLOROMETHANE; 2968=o-Dichlorobenzene; 2969=p-Dichlorobenzene; 2976=Vinyl chloride; 2977=1,1-Dichloroethylene; 2979=trans-1,2-Dichloroethylene; 2980=1,2-Dichloroethane; 2981=1,1,1-Trichloroethane; 2982=Carbon tetrachloride; 2983=1,2-Dichloropropane; 2984=Trichloroethylene; 2985=1,1,2-Trichloroethane; 2987=Tetrachloroethylene; 2989=CHLOROBENZENE; 2990=Benzene; 2991=Toluene; 2992=Ethylbenzene; 2996=Styrene; 4010=Combined Radium (-226 and -228); 5000=Lead and Copper Rule; 5200=LEAD AND COPPER RULE REVISIONS; 7000=Consumer Confidence Rule. Currently: 0700=Groundwater Rule; 5000=Lead and Copper Rule; 5200=LEAD AND COPPER RULE REVISIONS; 7000=Consumer Confidence Rule.

What happened

All 13 violation records on file, grouped into the 6 distinct things EPA's codes describe. Dates are the compliance period the violation is filed against.

Failure To Address Deficiency — Groundwater Rule health-based 1 open
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 5 records, 2018-06-22 to 2024-07-26.
Rule: Groundwater Rule -- protecting wells from faecal contamination.
Lead Consumer Notice — Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting 1 open
A required sample was not taken, or the result was not reported on time. 1 record, 2026-01-01.
Rule: Lead and Copper Rule -- corrosion of household plumbing.
Follow-up Or Routine LCR Tap M/R — Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting 1 open
A required sample was not taken, or the result was not reported on time. 1 record, 2025-10-01.
Rule: Lead and Copper Rule -- corrosion of household plumbing.
CCR Complete Failure to Report — Consumer Confidence Rule other 1 open
A requirement other than a limit, a sample or a notice was not met. 1 record, 2025-07-01.
Rule: Consumer Confidence Report -- the annual report to customers.
Treatment Technique No Certif. Operator — DBP Stage 1 health-based
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 4 records, 2017-07-01 to 2025-11-01.
Rule: Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule.
Violation code 2E health-based
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 1 record, 2024-10-17.
EPA violation code 2E, contaminant 5200 — not in the code table this build carries.
Every violation record, as filed (12 of 13)
Compliance periodWhatAboutKindStatusMeasured
2026-01-01 Lead Consumer Notice Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting open
2025-11-01 Treatment Technique No Certif. Operator DBP Stage 1 health-based returned to compliance (2025-11-24)
2025-10-01 Follow-up Or Routine LCR Tap M/R Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting open
2025-07-01 CCR Complete Failure to Report Consumer Confidence Rule other open
2024-10-17 code 2E health-based returned to compliance (2026-02-23)
2024-07-26 Failure To Address Deficiency Groundwater Rule health-based open
2021-04-01 Treatment Technique No Certif. Operator DBP Stage 1 health-based returned to compliance (2022-02-15)
2020-05-01 Treatment Technique No Certif. Operator DBP Stage 1 health-based returned to compliance (2020-09-17)
2018-06-22 Failure To Address Deficiency Groundwater Rule health-based returned to compliance (2020-02-05)
2018-06-22 Failure To Address Deficiency Groundwater Rule health-based returned to compliance (2019-10-31)
2018-06-22 Failure To Address Deficiency Groundwater Rule health-based returned to compliance (2020-08-05)
2018-06-22 Failure To Address Deficiency Groundwater Rule health-based returned to compliance (2020-08-05)

The remaining 1 are on the ECHO report.

What the regulator did about it

179 enforcement actions on this system's federal record. In Colorado the state is the primacy agency, so most actions are the state's; EPA acts directly on tribal systems and when it steps in.

DateActionBy
2026-02-23 St Compliance achieved
System submitted baseline LSLI form 2/23/26 jkk 2/24/26
state
2026-01-29 St Compliance achieved
System collected but reported after the deadline lmf 2/3/2026
state
2026-01-22 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-22 St Public Notif requested state
2026-01-22 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-22 St Public Notif requested state
2026-01-22 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-22 St Public Notif requested state
2026-01-22 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-22 St Public Notif requested state
2026-01-22 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-22 St Public Notif requested state
2026-01-22 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-22 St Public Notif requested state
2026-01-16 St Compliance achieved state
2026-01-07 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-07 St Public Notif requested state
2025-12-29 St AO (w/penalty) issued
DW.12.25.150300 issued on 12/29/2025. ejc
state
2025-12-26 St Compliance achieved
System completed and distributed EO PN on 12/26/2025 lmf 1/5/2026
state
2025-12-26 St Public Notif received state

20 most recent of 179; the rest are on the ECHO report.

Lead and copper

The latest 90th-percentile lead result is 0.004 mg/L (sampling period ending 2025-12-31) against an action level of 0.015 mg/L, below it. 7 results on file.

The action level is not a health limit: it is the level at which the rule requires a system to act (corrosion control, public education, and in some cases replacing lead service lines). Lead mostly enters water from household plumbing, so a system-wide percentile does not tell you what comes out of one tap.

Violation, enforcement and lead/copper records are EPA SDWIS federal reporting, fetched monthly; the summary is EPA ECHO. Code names come from EPA's own REF_CODE_VALUE table. SDWIS carries violations, not routine sample results — nitrate, disinfection by-product and PFAS values are not in it, and a clean record here means nothing was reported as a violation, not that nothing was ever detected. For what was measured, ask the system for its Consumer Confidence Report.

PFAS and lithium: EPA's UCMR 5 monitoring, 2023–2025

Source Register of another agency · fetched 2026-09-09 · verify at EPA UCMR occurrence data ↗

EPA did not sample this system under UCMR 5 (the rule covered every system serving more than 3,300 people and a drawn sample of smaller ones).

Common questions

Who provides drinking water in Granada, Colorado?

The Town of Granada is the public water system serving 515 people in Prowers County, from groundwater. Its EPA public water system id is CO0150300.

Where does the Town of Granada get its water?

The Town of Granada reports groundwater as its primary source. EPA lists its source facilities as NO 1 WELL, NO 2 WELL, NO 3 WELL.

Does the Town of Granada have any drinking water violations?

EPA's compliance record shows no open health-based violations for the Town of Granada at the last monthly fetch. Older and non-health-based entries, if any, are listed on this page.

Places this system serves

Census places its EPA service-area boundary substantially covers. Each page lists every system serving that place.

Every provider in Prowers County.

The record

EPA SDWIS federal reporting as of 2026-09-08; the compliance record above is EPA's own, fetched monthly, and the ECHO report carries the rest. Report a problem →