← All Colorado water providers

Town of Hartman

The Town of Hartman is the public water system serving 61 people in Prowers County, from groundwater. It buys water from Granada Rural Water Authority. EPA modelled this service area rather than tracing it from a utility map, so treat the edge as approximate.
Community system · EPA id CO0150500 · filed with EPA as “HARTMAN TOWN OF”

Serves Hartman.

People served
61
Service connections
45
Primary source
Groundwater
Owner
Local government
Counties served
Prowers
Water district

Modelled boundary. EPA estimated this service area (Random Forest) rather than tracing a utility-supplied map; treat the edge as approximate. About 0 km².

Where the water comes from

FacilityKindWater
INTERCONNECTION TO GRANADA WA CO0150400Consecutive connection (purchased)Groundwater · from GRANADA RURAL WATER AUTHORITY
NO 1 WELLWellGroundwater

These are EPA's facility records, not DWR structures. Which decreed rights sit behind an intake is the next phase; nothing here is inferred.

Wholesale connections

Buys water from GRANADA RURAL WATER AUTHORITY.

DWR structures that name this system

Source Probable join · fetched 2026-09-09 · matched on DWR's recorded contact or an EPA intake name; verify on the dossier

No DWR structure on file records this system as its contact, and none of its EPA intakes matches a structure name in its districts. DWR records a contact on only a fraction of structures, and only for districts fetched from its live service, so this is absence of a record, not evidence of no rights.

Compliance record

Source Register of another agency · fetched 2026-09-09 · verify at EPA ECHO ↗

3 health-based violations open now. A health-based violation means a measured level went over a federal limit, or a required treatment step was not carried out — not a missed form. EPA lists this system as a serious violator. What that means for anyone drinking the water depends on the contaminant and the dose; read EPA's own report and the system's Consumer Confidence Report rather than anything inferred here.

EPA's own summary: violations in 12 of the last 12 quarters, significant non-compliance in 4. In violation for, in EPA's words: 0400=Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule; 0700=Groundwater Rule; 0999=Chlorine; 1005=Arsenic; 1010=Barium; 1015=Cadmium; 1020=Chromium; 1025=Fluoride; 1035=Mercury; 1036=Nickel; 1040=Nitrate; 1045=Selenium; 1074=Antimony, Total; 1075=Beryllium, Total; 1085=Thallium, Total; 2005=Endrin; 2010=BHC-GAMMA; 2015=Methoxychlor; 2020=Toxaphene; 2031=Dalapon; 2032=Diquat; 2033=Endothall; 2035=Di(2-ethylhexyl) adipate; 2036=OXAMYL; 2037=Simazine; 2039=Di(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate; 2040=Picloram; 2041=Dinoseb; 2042=Hexachlorocyclopentadiene; 2046=Carbofuran; 2050=Atrazine; 2051=LASSO; 2065=Heptachlor; 2067=Heptachlor epoxide; 2105=2,4-D; 2110=2,4,5-TP; 2274=HEXACHLOROBENZENE; 2306=Benzo(a)pyrene; 2326=Pentachlorophenol; 2378=1,2,4-Trichlorobenzene; 2380=cis-1,2-Dichloroethylene; 2383=Total Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCB); 2931=1,2-DIBROMO-3-CHLOROPROPANE; 2946=ETHYLENE DIBROMIDE; 2955=Xylenes, Total; 2959=Chlordane; 2964=DICHLOROMETHANE; 2968=o-Dichlorobenzene; 2969=p-Dichlorobenzene; 2976=Vinyl chloride; 2977=1,1-Dichloroethylene; 2979=trans-1,2-Dichloroethylene; 2980=1,2-Dichloroethane; 2981=1,1,1-Trichloroethane; 2982=Carbon tetrachloride; 2983=1,2-Dichloropropane; 2984=Trichloroethylene; 2985=1,1,2-Trichloroethane; 2987=Tetrachloroethylene; 2989=CHLOROBENZENE; 2990=Benzene; 2991=Toluene; 2992=Ethylbenzene; 2996=Styrene; 3014=E. COLI; 4010=Combined Radium (-226 and -228); 5000=Lead and Copper Rule; 5200=LEAD AND COPPER RULE REVISIONS; 7000=Consumer Confidence Rule; 7500=Public Notice; 8000=Revised Total Coliform Rule. Currently: 0400=Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule; 0700=Groundwater Rule; 0999=Chlorine; 3014=E. COLI; 5000=Lead and Copper Rule; 5200=LEAD AND COPPER RULE REVISIONS; 7000=Consumer Confidence Rule; 7500=Public Notice; 8000=Revised Total Coliform Rule.

What happened

All 33 violation records on file, grouped into the 12 distinct things EPA's codes describe. Dates are the compliance period the violation is filed against.

Treatment Technique No Certif. Operator — DBP Stage 1 health-based 1 open
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 3 records, 2020-02-01 to 2025-08-01.
Rule: Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule.
Violation code 2E health-based 1 open
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 1 record, 2024-10-17.
EPA violation code 2E, contaminant 5200 — not in the code table this build carries.
Failure To Address Deficiency — Groundwater Rule health-based 1 open
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 1 record, 2021-12-30.
Rule: Groundwater Rule -- protecting wells from faecal contamination.
Lead Consumer Notice — Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting 3 open
A required sample was not taken, or the result was not reported on time. 3 records, 2024-04-01 to 2026-04-01.
Rule: Lead and Copper Rule -- corrosion of household plumbing.
PN Violation without NPDWR Violation — Public Notice other 11 open
A requirement other than a limit, a sample or a notice was not met. 11 records, 2025-03-01 to 2026-03-19.
Rule: Public Notice Rule -- telling customers about a problem.
PN Violation for NPDWR Violation — Public Notice other 7 open
A requirement other than a limit, a sample or a notice was not met. 7 records, 2025-03-08 to 2026-02-13.
Rule: Public Notice Rule -- telling customers about a problem.
CCR Complete Failure to Report — Consumer Confidence Rule other 2 open
A requirement other than a limit, a sample or a notice was not met. 2 records, 2024-07-01 to 2025-07-01.
Rule: Consumer Confidence Report -- the annual report to customers.
Monitoring, Source Water (GWR) — E. Coli monitoring and reporting 1 open
A required sample was not taken, or the result was not reported on time. 1 record, 2025-02-01.
Rule: Groundwater Rule -- protecting wells from faecal contamination.
Violation code 4G monitoring and reporting 1 open
A required report was not filed on time. 1 record, 2024-10-17.
EPA violation code 4G, contaminant 5200 — not in the code table this build carries.
Violation code 2A — Revised Total Coliform Rule health-based
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 1 record, 2025-03-08.
EPA violation code 2A, contaminant 8000 — not in the code table this build carries.
Public Education — Lead and Copper Rule health-based
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 1 record, 2013-10-01.
Rule: Lead and Copper Rule -- corrosion of household plumbing.
OCCT/SOWT Study/Recommendation — Lead and Copper Rule health-based
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 1 record, 2013-10-01.
Rule: Lead and Copper Rule -- corrosion of household plumbing.
Every violation record, as filed (12 of 33)
Compliance periodWhatAboutKindStatusMeasured
2026-04-01 Lead Consumer Notice Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting open
2026-03-19 PN Violation without NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2026-03-05 PN Violation without NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2026-02-19 PN Violation without NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2026-02-13 PN Violation for NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2026-02-05 PN Violation without NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2026-01-22 PN Violation without NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2025-12-25 PN Violation without NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2025-11-13 PN Violation for NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2025-10-30 PN Violation without NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2025-10-02 PN Violation without NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2025-10-01 Lead Consumer Notice Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting open

The remaining 21 are on the ECHO report.

What the regulator did about it

288 enforcement actions on this system's federal record. In Colorado the state is the primacy agency, so most actions are the state's; EPA acts directly on tribal systems and when it steps in.

DateActionBy
2026-04-22 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-04-22 St Public Notif requested state
2026-04-17 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-04-17 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-04-17 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-04-17 St Public Notif requested state
2026-03-24 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-03-24 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-03-24 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-03-24 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-03-24 St Public Notif requested state
2026-03-03 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-03-03 St Public Notif requested state
2026-03-03 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-03-03 St Public Notif requested state
2026-03-03 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-23 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-23 St Public Notif requested state
2026-01-23 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-23 St Public Notif requested state

20 most recent of 288; the rest are on the ECHO report.

Lead and copper

The latest 90th-percentile lead result is 0.0 mg/L (sampling period ending 2025-12-31) against an action level of 0.015 mg/L, below it. 15 results on file.

The action level is not a health limit: it is the level at which the rule requires a system to act (corrosion control, public education, and in some cases replacing lead service lines). Lead mostly enters water from household plumbing, so a system-wide percentile does not tell you what comes out of one tap.

Violation, enforcement and lead/copper records are EPA SDWIS federal reporting, fetched monthly; the summary is EPA ECHO. Code names come from EPA's own REF_CODE_VALUE table. SDWIS carries violations, not routine sample results — nitrate, disinfection by-product and PFAS values are not in it, and a clean record here means nothing was reported as a violation, not that nothing was ever detected. For what was measured, ask the system for its Consumer Confidence Report.

PFAS and lithium: EPA's UCMR 5 monitoring, 2023–2025

Source Register of another agency · fetched 2026-09-09 · verify at EPA UCMR occurrence data ↗

EPA did not sample this system under UCMR 5 (the rule covered every system serving more than 3,300 people and a drawn sample of smaller ones).

Common questions

Who provides drinking water in Hartman, Colorado?

The Town of Hartman is the public water system serving 61 people in Prowers County, from groundwater. Its EPA public water system id is CO0150500.

Where does the Town of Hartman get its water?

The Town of Hartman reports groundwater as its primary source. EPA lists its source facilities as INTERCONNECTION TO GRANADA WA CO0150400, NO 1 WELL.

Does the Town of Hartman have any drinking water violations?

EPA's compliance record shows no open health-based violations for the Town of Hartman at the last monthly fetch. Older and non-health-based entries, if any, are listed on this page.

Places this system serves

Census places its EPA service-area boundary substantially covers. Each page lists every system serving that place.

Every provider in Prowers County.

The record

EPA SDWIS federal reporting as of 2026-09-08; the compliance record above is EPA's own, fetched monthly, and the ECHO report carries the rest. Report a problem →