← All Colorado water providers

Valley Maintenance Corp. No. 1

Valley Maintenance Corp. No. 1 is the public water system serving 470 people in Teller County, from groundwater. EPA modelled this service area rather than tracing it from a utility map, so treat the edge as approximate.
Community system · EPA id CO0160550 · filed with EPA as “VALLEY MAINT CORP NO 1”
People served
470
Service connections
187
Primary source
Groundwater
Owner
Private
Counties served
Teller
Water district

Modelled boundary. EPA estimated this service area (Random Forest) rather than tracing a utility-supplied map; treat the edge as approximate. About 1 km².

Where the water comes from

FacilityKindWater
NO 1 WELL SHADOW LAKEWellGroundwater
NO 2 WELL LOWER RIDGE ROADWellGroundwater
NO 3 WELL ZERKEL WELLWellGroundwater
NO 4 WELL JACKS (REPLACEMENT)WellGroundwater

These are EPA's facility records, not DWR structures. Which decreed rights sit behind an intake is the next phase; nothing here is inferred.

DWR structures that name this system

Source Probable join · fetched 2026-09-09 · matched on DWR's recorded contact or an EPA intake name; verify on the dossier

No DWR structure on file records this system as its contact, and none of its EPA intakes matches a structure name in its districts. DWR records a contact on only a fraction of structures, and only for districts fetched from its live service, so this is absence of a record, not evidence of no rights.

Compliance record

Source Register of another agency · fetched 2026-09-09 · verify at EPA ECHO ↗

1 health-based violation open now. A health-based violation means a measured level went over a federal limit, or a required treatment step was not carried out — not a missed form. What that means for anyone drinking the water depends on the contaminant and the dose; read EPA's own report and the system's Consumer Confidence Report rather than anything inferred here.

EPA's own summary: violations in 12 of the last 12 quarters, significant non-compliance in 4. In violation for, in EPA's words: 0999=Chlorine; 1040=Nitrate; 2378=1,2,4-Trichlorobenzene; 2380=cis-1,2-Dichloroethylene; 2955=Xylenes, Total; 2964=DICHLOROMETHANE; 2968=o-Dichlorobenzene; 2969=p-Dichlorobenzene; 2976=Vinyl chloride; 2977=1,1-Dichloroethylene; 2979=trans-1,2-Dichloroethylene; 2980=1,2-Dichloroethane; 2981=1,1,1-Trichloroethane; 2982=Carbon tetrachloride; 2983=1,2-Dichloropropane; 2984=Trichloroethylene; 2985=1,1,2-Trichloroethane; 2987=Tetrachloroethylene; 2989=CHLOROBENZENE; 2990=Benzene; 2991=Toluene; 2992=Ethylbenzene; 2996=Styrene; 5000=Lead and Copper Rule; 7500=Public Notice; 8000=Revised Total Coliform Rule. Currently: 5000=Lead and Copper Rule; 7500=Public Notice.

What happened

All 10 violation records on file, grouped into the 6 distinct things EPA's codes describe. Dates are the compliance period the violation is filed against.

OCCT/SOWT Study/Recommendation — Lead and Copper Rule health-based 1 open
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 1 record, 2025-07-01.
Rule: Lead and Copper Rule -- corrosion of household plumbing.
PN Violation for NPDWR Violation — Public Notice other 3 open
A requirement other than a limit, a sample or a notice was not met. 3 records, 2025-08-29 to 2026-03-01.
Rule: Public Notice Rule -- telling customers about a problem.
Follow-up Or Routine LCR Tap M/R — Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting 1 open
A required sample was not taken, or the result was not reported on time. 1 record, 2026-01-01.
Rule: Lead and Copper Rule -- corrosion of household plumbing.
Initial, Follow-up, or Routine Source Water M/R — Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting 1 open
A required sample was not taken, or the result was not reported on time. 1 record, 2025-07-01.
Rule: Lead and Copper Rule -- corrosion of household plumbing.
PN Violation without NPDWR Violation — Public Notice other 2 open
A requirement other than a limit, a sample or a notice was not met. 2 records, 2020-09-26 to 2020-12-26.
Rule: Public Notice Rule -- telling customers about a problem.
Treatment Technique No Certif. Operator — DBP Stage 1 health-based
A required treatment step was not carried out or not proved. 2 records, 2020-12-01 to 2023-11-01.
Rule: Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule.
Every violation record, as filed (10 of 10)
Compliance periodWhatAboutKindStatusMeasured
2026-03-01 PN Violation for NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2026-01-01 Follow-up Or Routine LCR Tap M/R Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting open
2025-11-29 PN Violation for NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2025-08-29 PN Violation for NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2025-07-01 OCCT/SOWT Study/Recommendation Lead and Copper Rule health-based open
2025-07-01 Initial, Follow-up, or Routine Source Water M/R Lead and Copper Rule monitoring and reporting open
2023-11-01 Treatment Technique No Certif. Operator DBP Stage 1 health-based returned to compliance (2023-11-16)
2020-12-26 PN Violation without NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open
2020-12-01 Treatment Technique No Certif. Operator DBP Stage 1 health-based returned to compliance (2020-12-16)
2020-09-26 PN Violation without NPDWR Violation Public Notice other open

What the regulator did about it

71 enforcement actions on this system's federal record. In Colorado the state is the primacy agency, so most actions are the state's; EPA acts directly on tribal systems and when it steps in.

DateActionBy
2026-03-30 St AO (w/o penalty) issued
DW.03.26.160550 issued on 3/30/2026. ejc
state
2026-03-16 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-02-26 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-21 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-21 St Public Notif requested state
2026-01-21 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-21 St Public Notif requested state
2026-01-21 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2026-01-21 St Public Notif requested state
2025-11-24 St Compliance achieved state
2025-11-21 St Compliance achieved
RTC w/ submission of 11/21/2025 LCR notice to dept. TC 12/4/2025
state
2025-11-20 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2025-11-18 St Compliance achieved
system submitted CCR and COD on 11.18.25 JWD 11.19.25
state
2025-10-29 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2025-10-29 St Public Notif requested state
2025-09-24 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2025-07-29 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2025-07-29 St Public Notif requested state
2025-07-29 St Violation/Reminder Notice state
2025-07-29 St Public Notif requested state

20 most recent of 71; the rest are on the ECHO report.

Lead and copper

The latest 90th-percentile lead result is 0.0016 mg/L (sampling period ending 2025-12-31) against an action level of 0.015 mg/L, below it. Copper 1.44 mg/L against 1.3 mg/L, above it. 20 results on file.

The action level is not a health limit: it is the level at which the rule requires a system to act (corrosion control, public education, and in some cases replacing lead service lines). Lead mostly enters water from household plumbing, so a system-wide percentile does not tell you what comes out of one tap.

Violation, enforcement and lead/copper records are EPA SDWIS federal reporting, fetched monthly; the summary is EPA ECHO. Code names come from EPA's own REF_CODE_VALUE table. SDWIS carries violations, not routine sample results — nitrate, disinfection by-product and PFAS values are not in it, and a clean record here means nothing was reported as a violation, not that nothing was ever detected. For what was measured, ask the system for its Consumer Confidence Report.

PFAS and lithium: EPA's UCMR 5 monitoring, 2023–2025

Source Register of another agency · fetched 2026-09-09 · verify at EPA UCMR occurrence data ↗

EPA did not sample this system under UCMR 5 (the rule covered every system serving more than 3,300 people and a drawn sample of smaller ones).

Common questions

Who provides drinking water in Colorado Springs, Colorado?

Valley Maintenance Corp. No. 1 is the public water system serving 470 people in Teller County, from groundwater. Its EPA public water system id is CO0160550.

Where does Valley Maintenance Corp. No. 1 get its water?

Valley Maintenance Corp. No. 1 reports groundwater as its primary source. EPA lists its source facilities as NO 1 WELL SHADOW LAKE, NO 2 WELL LOWER RIDGE ROAD, NO 3 WELL ZERKEL WELL, NO 4 WELL JACKS (REPLACEMENT).

Does Valley Maintenance Corp. No. 1 have any drinking water violations?

EPA's compliance record shows no open health-based violations for Valley Maintenance Corp. No. 1 at the last monthly fetch. Older and non-health-based entries, if any, are listed on this page.

Every provider in Teller County.

The record

EPA SDWIS federal reporting as of 2026-09-08; the compliance record above is EPA's own, fetched monthly, and the ECHO report carries the rest. Report a problem →